​​​​The FHOG scheme was introduced on 1 July 2000 to assist first home buyers in the Northern Territory. To encourage the construction of new homes in the Territory, from 1 January 2015, FHOG will only be available to first home buyers who enter into a contract to construct or purchase a new home, or commence construction of a new home, on or after that date.

Note: While the FHOG is only available on the purchase or construction of a new home, there is a separate stamp duty discount for first home buyers purchasing an established home. Further information on the stamp duty discount is available on the First Home Owner Discount page.

FHOG is not means tested however, home purchase price thresholds may apply. Where the commencement date of the eligible transaction is between 1 January 2010 and 12 May 2014, to remain eligible the consideration for, or the value of the home must be under the transaction eligibility threshold (see table below). This includes the unencumbered value of the land on which a home is to be built. 

Where the commencement date of the eligible transaction is on or after 13 May 2014, the transaction eligibility threshold does not apply to the construction or purchase of a new home but continues to apply to the purchase of an established home.

An established home is one that has been previously sold or occupied, and is lawfully fit for occupation.

A new home is one that has never been previously lived in or sold as a place of residence. To prevent anomalies, a discretion applies in limited circumstances to declare a home that has been previously sold, but not occupied, to be a new home. For further information on this discretion, refer to Commissioner’s Guideline CG-HI-011 (pdf, 70kb) | Commissioner's Guideline CG-HI-011 (docx, 221kb).

The commencement date of an eligible transaction is: 

  • for a contract to purchase or construct a home, the date when the contract is made; or

  • for an owner builder, the date the laying of the foundations commenced.

Commencement date of eligible transaction​ Transaction eligibility threshold​
​On or after 1 January 2015 ​No threshold applies for new homes
From 13 May 2014​ - 31 December 2014 $600 000​ (established homes only)
From 4 December 2012​ - 12 May 2014 $600 000​
From 1 January 2010 - 3 December 2012​ $750 000​​
Prior to 1 January 2010​ No threshold applied​

The amount of the FHOG is the lesser of the consideration actually paid for the eligible transaction, or:

Commencement date of eligible transaction​ New home Established home
From 1 January 2015 $26 000 Nil
​From 13 May 2014 - 31 December 2014 ​​$26 000 ​Urban area - $12 000
Elsewhere  - $25 000
From 4 December 2012 - 12 May 2014​ $25 000 Urban area - $12 000
Elsewhere  - $25 000
Prior to 3 December 2012​ $7000 $7000

An urban area means all land located wholly within the boundaries of:

  • the Darwin, Palmerston or Litchfield municipalities;
  • Wagait Shire;
  • the Darwin Waterfront Precinct;
  • the “prescribed area” for the Darwin Rates Act (or, from 1 July 2014, the prescribed Area A described in the Schedule to the Northern Territory Rates Regulations); and 
  • any other area prescribed by regulation.

Maps of current local government boundaries in the Territory can be found on the Department of Local Government and Community Services website.​​